Welcome, to the Asia Enterprise BRAND Awards (AEBA) 2016. The year is a rough one for many corporations around the world due to the global financial turbulence. It is at such times that companies, who distinguish themselves through particular and targeted means and efforts, reach the forefront of success in their respective markets.

The AEBA is one such target-oriented medium. The AEBA aims to promote and celebrate brands both big and small for their achievements. The AEBA gives recognition to brands that have invested time, effort and resources to distinguish themselves from their competitors through various branding initiatives.

This year, I am proud to distinctly mention our 3 Special Award Winners: Merck KGaA, Singapore Airlines and Banyan Tree Spa–who are globally recognised as brand leaders and trendsetters in their respective industries with worldwide acclaim and appeal. Merck KGaA is a German multinational company with a history going back over 340 years. It is renowned for its innovative and top-quality high tech products in the chemical, pharmaceutical and life sciences industry. Singapore Airlines is our national airline and our pride; certainly an icon in the aviation industry, not just for the aircraft but more so for their continuous innovation and high service standards that set them apart from others, allowing them to sweep up global accolades annually. Banyan Tree Spa, a past AEBA 2015 winner, has long been known as a leading international operator in the hospitality and spa industry, offering a blend of ancient health and modern innovative beauty practices in their treatments.

This year, the AEBA is reaching out to social entrepreneurs, to recognise their dedication and perseverance towards realising their goals. This year, for the first time, AEBA is privileged and proud to honour social enterprises for their efforts in their objectives and branding efforts. I trust that the Awards will motivate and enhance leadership in social enterprise as well as support the acceleration of their success.

The AEBA 2016 winners are companies who inspire us with their dedication and commitment to their respective brands and in turn to their stakeholders both internal & external. Their brands are proven, tried and tested. Today we are here to acclaim and award each of them for their contributions to growing their respective brands.

I would like to thank our Chief Judge and the Panel of Judges for putting in their time and expertise in evaluating our winners. I would also like to thank the Awards Secretariat for organising a successful event; your hard work will not go unnoticed.

A very heartfelt thank you, to our Guest of Honour, Mr Melvin Yong, Member of Parliament for Tanjong Pagar GRC, Adviser to Tanjong Pagar GRC Grassroots Organisations (Moulmein-Cairnhill), who took time off from his busy schedule to grace us with his presence.

Lastly, I would like to congratulate and thank all our winners for being a part of this illustrious event. This event would not have come to be, without your efforts in distinguishing yourselves from the rest.

Once again, my heartfelt congratulations to all.


Fong Kwok Shiung
General Manager, PTL Group
Chairman, Awards Organising Committee